Sarawak Polls: Landslide Victory For GPS, PH Thrashed


KUCHING — The Election Commission (EC) announced at 8.45 pm that the Gabungan Parti Sarawak (GPS) are the official winners tonight of the 12th Sarawak state election.

EC chairman Abdul Ghani Salleh said GPS officially won enough seats as of 8.45pm to form the next state government.

As of 9.45pm, the EC officially declared GPS the winner in 59 seats, while the Opposition Parti Sarawak Bersatu (PSB) had only managed to garner two seats – Ba’Kelalan and Engkilili.

DAP has also only won in two seats – Pending and Padungan.

Earlier, caretaker Chief Minister Abang Johari Openg captured the Gedong seat for the first time after moving from Satok –which he was the incumbent for the past nine terms – with 4,310 votes.

He beat Parti Sarawak Bersatu’s (PSB) Mohamad Sofian Fariz Sharbini who garnered 703 votes; Amanah’s Cikgu Kamal (94 votes); and Parti Bumi Kenyalang’s Tomson Ango (157 votes).

Newbie GPS candidate, Azizul Annuar Adenan is set to follow in his parents’ footsteps as the elected representative for Tanjung Datu. He won the state assembly seat with a majority of 4,502 votes after polling 5,423 votes.

His contenders trailed in the vote count with Parti Sarawak Bersatu’s Jery’in Fauzi managing to get 921 votes, Independent Cikgu Talip (261 votes) and Parti Bumi Kenyalang’s Goem Pijar (226 votes).

82 seats were up for grabs in this 12th Sarawak general election to elect the 19th Sarawak State Legislative Assembly. – New Malaysia Herald

Facebook Comments

author avatar
Staff Editor
New Malaysia Herald publishes articles, comments and posts from various contributors. We always welcome new content and write up. If you would like to contribute please contact us at :