Sultan Muhammad V abdicates his throne.

Istana Negara announced the abdication of His Majesty Sultan Muhammad V from the throne of Yang DiPertuan Agong. The 15th Paramount Ruler who hailed from Kelantan ascended to the throne on 13th December 2016.

While rumours of his abdication had been spread during the past weeks, the rumour was refuted by Kelantan State Government.

The appointment of the next Paramount Ruler will be determined by Majlis Raja-Raja. It is expected that the next Paramount Leader will be appointed either from the states of Perak, Johor or Pahang.

Malaysia practices Constitutional Monarchy whereby the 9 Malay Rulers take turn to ascend to the post of Paramount Ruler, known as Yang DiPertuan Agong for a 5 years term. The Malay Rulers Council which was founded in 1897 as a conference between the 9 sovereign Malay Sultans, while the first Yang DiPertuan Agong was Yang DiPertuan Agong Tuanku Abdul Rahman ibni Almarhum Tuanku Muhammad, who ascended the throne on 31 August 1957.

While there are calls for Malaysia to adopt republic system mainly from Pakatan Harapan supporters, larger part of Malaysian are still rooting for the Constitutional Monarch and the Majlis Raja-Raja.

The Keeper of the Rulers’ Seal has announced that the Rulers decided to choose the 16th King on Jan 24 and the swearing-in a week later.

Facebook Comments

author avatar
Staff Editor
New Malaysia Herald publishes articles, comments and posts from various contributors. We always welcome new content and write up. If you would like to contribute please contact us at :

Latest articles

Related articles